A GUIDE TO THE ALUMNI MEDICAL LIBRARY SERVICES & RESOURCES


LOCATION & BASIC FACTS

The Alumni Medical Library is located in the Instructional Building on the Medical Campus (L-12, 80 East Concord Street, Boston, MA 02118). The Library occupies the 11th, 12th and 13th floors of the building, with the entrance on the 12th floor. The Library may be entered via the elevator on 12, or through the east stairwell from the 10th or 14th floors.

The Alumni Medical Library serves the faculty, staff and students of the Boston University Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, and Public Health, and the Boston Medical Center.

Telephones for answering pages are located on each floor of the Library in the photocopy alcove. A public telephone is located just outside the entrance in the elevator lobby. Restrooms are located in the photocopy alcoves on the 11th and 13th floors. Individual study carrels and large tables are located throughout the Library.

NO FOOD OR DRINK ARE PERMITTED IN THE LIBRARY OR LRC COMPUTING LAB.

LIBRARY HOURS

Monday - Thursday 7:30 am - Midnight
Friday 7:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sunday 10:00 am - Midnight
* Special and holiday hours are posted at the library entrance.

CONTACTS, TELEPHONE NUMBERS, AND URL's

Main Number, Information, Directions 617-638-4232
Library Web Site http://med-libwww.bu.edu/
Fax Machine 617-638-4233
Administrative Offices 617-638-4230
Circulation Desk 617-638-4244
LRC Computing Lab 617-638-5433
http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/computing.html
Reference Desk 617-638-4228
http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/refquest.html
refquest@med-libwww.bu.edu
Interlibrary Loan/Photocopy 617-638-4270
http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/illrequest.html
ill@med-libinfo.bu.edu
Education & Training 617-638-4228
http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/courselist.html

ELECTRONIC RESOURCES

Over 50 electronic textbooks and 1500+ full text electronic journals, a variety of Web-based reference tools, a collection of Web-accessible resources on over 80 diseases and medical conditions, and 30+ electronic indexes and knowledge databases including MEDLINE, PsycINFO, Web of Science, LEXIS-NEXIS, and many others are available on the Library's Web site:
Electronic Textbooks http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/ebooks/
Electronic Journals http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/elecjour.html
Web Reference Library http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/reflib.html
Electronic Indexes http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/prov.html

COMPUTING & AUDIOVISUAL RESOURCES

A variety of hardware and software including laser printers, color scanners, full Internet access, and more are available in the Learning Resources Center, located on the Library's 11th floor. All printers in the LRC are operated by copy cards (10 cents per page). The Library also houses a selection of computer-assisted instruction (CAI) programs for use by students. Ethernet connections for laptop computers are located in Reference area on the 12th floor of the Library. Wireless Internet access is also available from any location in the Library.

A small collection of audiovisuals, including videotapes and slides, can be viewed in room 1302.

E-mail and campus computing account applications can be processed in the LRC. Click here to apply for an ACS account online, and use this link to print the application form.

LRC Hours
Monday - Thursday 8:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 8:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday 10:30 am - 9:30 pm
Sunday 10:30 am - 11:00 pm
* Special and holiday hours are posted at the library entrance.

CIRCULATION SERVICES

All faculty, staff and students of Boston University and Boston Medical Center can use their identification cards to check-out materials. Books in the regular circulating collection are circulated for 28 days with an option to renew. Books can be returned to any of the Boston University libraries or to the book-drop located on the first floor of the Instructional Building. Reserve books, located behind the Circulation Desk, can be used in the Library, and do not check out overnight. Journals, reference books, and audiovisual materials do not circulate outside the Library without special permission. More information about Circulation Services can be found at http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/circ.html.

RESERVE AND REFERENCE MATERIALS

Reserve materials include current clinical textbooks, class readers, and course reserve materials. Reserve items are held at the Circulation Desk, and may be used in the library for a two-hour period. Reference materials include directories and like materials. Reference items are located behind and across from the Reference Desk, and can be use in the Library for any period of time. Reserve and reference materials do not check out of the Library.

REFERENCE AND EDUCATIONAL SERVICES

Reference librarians are available to consult with patrons regarding collections, services, and print and electronic information resources.
The Library also provides training on MEDLINE, using the Web more effectively, PowerPoint, EndNote, and other information tools and resources.

Reference Desk Hours
Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm

* Appointments during regular hours are encouraged, but not required. Reference librarians may also be available during off hours by-appointment for consultations or training. Contact a reference librarian at 617-638-4228 or refquest@med-libwww.bu.edu for more information.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL) AND DOCUMENT DELIVERY

Photocopies of articles and loans of materials not held at the Alumni Medical Library are available to eligible patrons through ILL. Requested items usually take 5-10 working days to arrive. A rush service is also available. For ILL costs, contact the ILL Department at 617-638-4270, ill@med-libinfo.bu.edu, or http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/ill.html.

ILL request forms are available at the Circulation Desk or on the Web at http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/illrequest.html.

OFF-SITE STORAGE OF PRE-1966 JOURNALS

Most of the Library's pre-1966 journals are located in an off-site storage facility. Access to off-site journals is free-of-charge, usually with a 24 hour turnaround. Request off-site journal volumes at the Circulation Desk or on the Web at http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/illrequest.html.

PHOTOCOPY SERVICES

Self-service photocopy machines are available on all floors of the Library. All machines operate by copy cards, and cost 10 cents per page. STUDENTS ARE ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE 500 FREE COPIES/PRINTS EACH SEMESTER.

A photocopy service is available for journal articles or book chapters owned by the Library. This service costs 20 cents per page for Boston University Medical Center and Boston Medical Center faculty, staff, and students.

Photocopy request forms are available at the Circulation Desk, or can be submitted on the Web at http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/illrequest.html.

BUMC MEDLINE Plus/OVID SEARCH SYSTEM

BUMC MEDLINE Plus/OVID runs software produced by OVID, Inc., and contains the MEDLINE database from 1966 to the present with full search capabilities for beginners through advanced levels. Also available are CINAHL (nursing and allied health), a variety of Evidence Based Medicine resources, and the full-text of over 1500 journals.

BUMC MEDLINE Plus/OVID can be searched from terminals located throughout the Library without an individual account, or via remote access to users who have individual accounts. Searching documentation and help guides are available at the Reference Desk.

Training sessions are offered to groups or individuals on a by-request basis.

BUMC MEDLINE Plus/OVID is available 24/7 on the Web at: http://med-libinfo.bu.edu/ovid/ovidweb.cgi.

Go to http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/dbases1.html for more information about BUMC MEDLINE Plus/OVID.

ONLINE LIBRARY CATALOG AND BOSTON LIBRARY CONSORTIUM

The Boston University's online library catalog contains information about book and journal holdings in all BU libraries. Catalog terminals are located in all campus libraries or on the Web at http://library.bu.edu.

Boston University is a member of the Boston Library Consortium (BLC), which provides cooperative library borrowing and use privileges at 17 area university libraries. Boston University Medical Center faculty, staff, and students should get a BLC Consortium Card at the Alumni Medical Library Reference Desk (Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm) before going to BLC member libraries.

Access more information about the BLC or BLC member libraries' Web sites at http://www.blc.org/.

For a complete list of BLC member libraries or descriptions of consortium services, go to http://med-libwww.bu.edu/library/oncat.html.

SPECIAL NEEDS

Wheelchair access to all floors of the Library is available. Patrons who need assistance retrieving books and journals because of a disability, because of the height at which the item is shelved, or because of the weight of an item are encouraged to ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.



For more information about the Alumni Medical Library, contact a reference librarian at
617-638-4228 or refquest@med-libwww.bu.edu.